The House of Rothschild: Volume 1: Money's Prophets: 1798-1848

Copertina anteriore
Penguin, 1 nov 1999 - 672 pagine
From the bestselling author of The Ascent of Money and The Square and the Tower

In his rich and nuanced portrait of the remarkable, elusive Rothschild family, Oxford scholar and bestselling author Niall Ferguson uncovers the secrets behind the family's phenomenal economic success. He reveals for the first time the details of the family's vast political network, which gave it access to and influence over many of the greatest statesmen of the age. And he tells a family saga, tracing the importance of unity and the profound role of Judaism in the lives of a dynasty that rose from the confines of the Frankfurt ghetto and later used its influence to assist oppressed Jews throughout Europe. A definitive work of impeccable scholarship with a thoroughly engaging narrative, The House of Rothschild is a biography of the rarest kind, in which mysterious and fascinating historical figures finally spring to life.

Cosa dicono le persone - Scrivi una recensione

Nessuna recensione trovata nei soliti posti.

Pagine selezionate


About the Author
TWO The Electors Treasure
THREE The Commanding General 18131815
FOUR ACourt Always Leads to Something 18161825
FIVE Hue and Cry 18261829
SIX Amschels Garden
SEVEN Barons
TEN The Worlds Bankers
ELEVEN Il est mort 1836
TWELVE Love and Debt
THIRTEEN Quicksilver and Hickory 18341839
FOURTEEN Between Retrenchment and Rearmament 1840
Playing at Railways 18301846
Prices and Purchasing Power

EIGHT Sudden Revolutions 18301833
NINE The Chains of Peace 18301833

Parole e frasi comuni

Informazioni sull'autore (1999)

Niall Ferguson is one of the world's most renowned historians. He is the author of Paper and Iron, The House of Rothschild, The Pity of War, The Cash Nexus, Empire, Colossus, The War of the World, The Ascent of Money, High Financier, Civilization, The Great Degeneration, Kissinger, 1923-1968: The Idealist, and The Square and the Tower. He is Senior Fellow at the Hoover Institution, Stanford University, and a Visiting Professor at Tsinghua University, Beijing. His many awards include the Benjamin Franklin Prize for Public Service (2010), the Hayek Prize for Lifetime Achievement (2012) and the Ludwig Erhard Prize for Economic Journalism (2013).

Informazioni bibliografiche