The Springs of Affection: Stories of Dublin

Copertina anteriore
Houghton Mifflin, 1997 - 358 pagine
Maeve Brennan came to America from Ireland in 1934, when she was seventeen. From 1949 through the mid-1970s, she was on the staff of The New Yorker, where she made memorable contributions to "The Talk of the Town" under the pen name "The Long-Winded Lady." She also wrote short stories, some of the best the magazine ever published. Though much of her writing is set in and around Manhattan, her finest work is always set in Dublin, her imagination's home. The Springs of Affection collects all her Irish fiction, twenty-one stories in three story cycles. Some of these stories are autobiographical, and render without sentimentality the rawest emotions of girlhood; Brennan remembers exactly what it was to be five years old and caught in a lie, and to be thirteen and lied to. Others concern the bitter marriage of Rose and Hubert Derdon, and the moments of understanding that should bring these two together but instead drive them further apart. The most ambitious and lyrical stories explore the world of Delia Bagot, a woman whose house and children are the most of what she needs, and whose imagination and ambitions seldom take her far from her own front parlor. The sweep of Delia's life, as considered by the sister-in-law who despised her, is the subject of the title story, an almost novella-length masterpiece that, as William Maxwell writes in his introduction, "belongs with the great short stories of this century."

Dall'interno del libro

Cosa dicono le persone - Scrivi una recensione

LibraryThing Review

Recensione dell'utente  - m.belljackson - LibraryThing

Early real life short stories are well crafted, yet not compelling reading, enlivened by visits from Uncle Matt. Until Hubert and the holy picture, the redeeming Christmas Eve and some of the other ... Leggi recensione completa

LibraryThing Review

Recensione dell'utente  - thesmellofbooks - LibraryThing

I can't say I felt at ease with all of these stories, but they are magnificent in their way. I hope to read the Bagot stories especially over and over to see just how she does it. Tremendous work. Leggi recensione completa


Introduction by William Maxwell
The Morning after the Big Fire
The Day We Got Our Own Back

10 sezioni non visualizzate

Altre edizioni - Visualizza tutto

Parole e frasi comuni

Informazioni sull'autore (1997)

Born in Lincoln, Illinois in 1908, William Maxwell is one of America's more prominent writers. He is the recipient of numerous awards including the National Book Critics Circle Award (1994), and the American Book Award (1982) for his novel "So Long, See You Tomorrow." Maxwell's fiction has been described as nostalgic. Most of his work takes place in simpler, gentler times in the small towns of the American Midwest. Two of Maxwell's novels, "They Came Like Swallows" (1937) and "So Long, See You Tomorrow" (1980), deal with characters who lose relatives in the influenza epidemic of 1918. Maxwell's own mother died in the epidemic when he was ten years old. Maxwell published his first novel, "Bright Center of Heaven," in 1934. He moved to New York City in 1936 and was hired by the New Yorker. His years as an editor there, 1936 to 1976, coincided with what many believe are the magazine's finest. This was the era that saw the publication of the works of many accomplished writers, such as J. D. Salinger, Eudora Welty, John Updike, and Mary McCarthy in the New Yorker's pages. Maxwell has published six novels, several collections of short stories, a family history, and numerous book reviews. He served as president of the National Institute of Arts and letters from 1969 to 1972. William Maxwell has been married for over 50 years to the former Emily Noyes. They met at the New Yorker when she applied for a job. The couple has two daughters.

Informazioni bibliografiche